Our Traditional Territory


Historically, the Hän people travelled over a vast area over over 10,000 sq kilometres throughout the seasons. This area is recognized as traditional territory and is still known and used by the Tr’ondëk
Hwëch’in people for traditional and cultural subsistence purposes.

All Yukon First Nations have traditional territories, but only self-governing Yukon First Nations have settlement lands. For the purposes of the land claims process, Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in Traditional Territory is not legally owned by TH, but we maintain certain rights (like Aboriginal hunting rights) within our traditional territory, and we have responsibilities and authorities regarding activities and decision-making within the traditional territory. Settlement lands, however, are legally and communally owned by the First Nation. Tr'ondëk Hwëch’in own 2,598.51 km2 of settlement land.

The Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in Final Agreement is a modern-day ‘treaty’ recognized in Section 35 of the Canadian Constitution Act. The Final Agreement asserts and retains Aboriginal rights, titles, and interests, along with stewardship and mangement responsibilities, with respect to TH traditional territory and, more specifically, to TH settlement lands as defined in the  Final Agreement and Self-Government Agreement in 1998.